Life of a Prem Baby Blog

Archive for January 7th, 2011


Well it looks as though Jenson is well and truely teething now!

Every day he dribbles that much that I swear other people think I have just dumped him in a bucket of water fully clothed!

The poor little mite though, its obviously causing him some discomfort as when he is taking his naps he starts to cry in his sleep 😦

To try to alleviate the pain I am using Teething Granules, which was recommended by my sister in law. One of the few products where it doesnt say “except premature babies”!, and this seems to be helping somewhat.

We have brought a teething ring but it is rendered useless at the moment as Jenson hasnt figured out that if he is holding it he should be able to put it into his mouth, so if he wants to use it I have to sit there holding it for him.

Lets hope it doesnt get too bad for Jenson.


Baby Club today was a bit lonely, there was only me and Jenson that turned up today! So with just me and Jenson and the two ladies that run the club Jenson got lots of attention!

Jenson even allowed one of the club leaders to have a hold, he was quite happy sitting on her lap and smiling at her while she talked to him.

On a good note it was nice to be the only ones there today, I had a good chat with the two leaders about various things that Jenson is doing and what he should be doing for his age.

It was nice to actually speak to adults for a change rather than speak baby talk!

Next week at Baby Club we are meant to be having a speaker come in to talk to us about reading to our babies. Hopefully more mums will turn up next time!


Miracle mum brings premature baby son back to life with two hours of loving cuddles after doctors pronounce him dead

It was a final chance to say goodbye for grieving mother Kate Ogg after doctors gave up hope of saving her premature baby.
She tearfully told her lifeless son – born at 27 weeks weighing 2lb – how much she loved him and cuddled him tightly, not wanting to let him go.
Although little Jamie’s twin sister Emily had been delivered successfully, doctors had given Mrs Ogg the news all mothers dread – that after 20 minutes of battling to get her son to breathe, they had declared him dead.

Having given up on a miracle, Mrs Ogg unwrapped the baby from his blanket and held him against her skin. And then an extraordinary thing happened.
After two hours of being hugged, touched and spoken to by his mother, the little boy began showing signs of life.
At first, it was just a gasp for air that was dismissed by doctors as a reflex action.
But then the startled mother fed him a little breast milk on her finger and he started breathing normally.
‘I thought, “Oh my God, what’s going on”,’ said Mrs Ogg.
‘A short time later he opened his eyes. It was a miracle. Then he held out his hand and grabbed my finger.
‘He opened his eyes and moved his head from side to side. The doctor kept shaking his head saying, “I don’t believe it, I don’t believe it”.’

The boy was born prematurely with twin sister Emily at 27 weeks

The Australian mother spoke publicly for the first time yesterday to highlight the importance of skin-on-skin care for sick babies, which is being used at an increasing number of British hospitals.
‘He started gasping more and more regularly. I thought, “Oh my God, what’s going on?” A short time later he opened his eyes. It was a miracle’
In most cases, babies are rushed off to intensive care if there is a serious problem during the birth.
But the ‘kangaroo care’ technique, named after the way kangaroos hold their young in a pouch next to their bodies, allows the mother to act as a human incubator to keep babies warm, stimulated and fed.
Pre-term and low birth-weight babies treated with the skin-to-skin method have also been shown to have lower infection rates, less severe illness, improved sleep patterns and are at reduced risk of hypothermia.
Mrs Ogg and her husband David told how doctors gave up on saving their son after a three-hour labour in a Sydney hospital in March.
‘The doctor asked me had we chosen a name for our son,’ said Mrs Ogg. ‘I said, “Jamie”, and he turned around with my son already wrapped up and said, “We’ve lost Jamie, he didn’t make it, sorry”.
‘It was the worse feeling I’ve ever felt. I unwrapped Jamie from his blanket. He was very limp.

‘I took my gown off and arranged him on my chest with his head over my arm and just held him. He wasn’t moving at all and we just started talking to him.
‘We told him what his name was and that he had a sister. We told him the things we wanted to do with him throughout his life.
‘Jamie occasionally gasped for air, which doctors said was a reflex action. But then I felt him move as if he were startled, then he started gasping more and more regularly.
‘I gave Jamie some breast milk on my finger, he took it and started regular breathing.’
Mrs Ogg held her son, now five months old and fully recovered, as she spoke on the Australian TV show Today Tonight.
Her husband added: ‘Luckily I’ve got a very strong, very smart wife.
‘She instinctively did what she did. If she hadn’t done that, Jamie probably wouldn’t be here.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1306283/Miracle-premature-baby-declared-dead-doctors-revived-mothers-touch.html#ixzz1ANTWb8Pt


So after the Christmas break we are now going back to baby club today.

Before Christmas we had lots of fun making a christmas card for daddy, with lots of glitter and glue 🙂 (okay I admit it, I made the card and Jenson just laid there watching mummy and smiling back!).

Each week at baby club they talk about different things like weaning, communication and teething. I find these sessions very helpful as it helps to answer any questions that I have about the topic being discussed. Although I always find myself asking the speaker “Is that the same for premature babies??” And I always get the same sort of answer that I should base his development on his corrected age i.e. being 8 weeks behind.
The childrens centre me and Jenson go to has a distinct lack of support for parents with premature babies, so Im hoping (fingers crossed!) that I might be able to set up my own baby support group for parents with premature babies, a group where we can all meet just to have a chat and share stories.

Anyway the group we go to I find it is a good opportunity for Jenson to meet other babies, and over the last few weeks he has started to take a lot more notice of his surroundings and the people around him. He is very nosey! He just likes to sit there and observe everyone and when anyone talks to him he rewards them with the biggest smile 🙂

Hopefully today he will show everyone his new tricks!


January 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 642 other subscribers

Where my readers are from

Bliss

www.bliss.org.uk