Life of a Prem Baby Blog

Flat Head Jenson

Posted on: 18/02/2011


One thing that is bothering me at the moment is the fact that my little boy has quite a flat head at the back, particularly his left hand side.

He has had this since coming out of hospital a little over 6 months ago, before he was born I had been aware of baby’s developing a flat head because of the large lengths of time they spend on their backs sleeping. But the thing is it doesnt bother me until someone mentions it!

At Jensons last hospital appointment in December 2010 both me and my husband mentioned our concerns about Jensons flat head and the Consultant reassured us that as Jensons brain grew in size that his skull would basically “pop out”. He told us that the front of his skull at the moment has a gap which by the time he is roughly 2 years old should be closing, so in essence Jensons head still had a lot of time to “grow” into a normal shape. I came away from this appointment not as stressed about this as I had been and since then I hadnt worried to much about his head, that was until I went to Baby Club a few weeks back and one of the ladies there mentioned it.

Now I know she only meant well and told me that if it was her that she wouldnt be worried about it just yet, but it still upset me. I had honestly thought his head was actually starting to look better, in fact it looks as though it is starting to pop out, but then for someone to mention it and say it is a bit flat I feel kind of deflated 😦

So now of course Im worrying about it all over again, will Jensons head pop out before he reaches 2 years old?? Ive heard that it can sometimes affect their development which is the last thing Jenson needs as he already has the disadvantage of being 2 months behind other babies of the same age.

I decided to mention it yet again to the Health Visitor at weigh in yesterday, and she asked me when Jensons next hospital appointment was, which is in 3 months time. Again she reiterated that his skull would not go hard until he was actually 2 1/2 years old so there was still plenty of time. She also said that in the 3 months until Jensons next hospital appointment that his head would change shape between now and then just because he would now be starting to roll over more and try to sit up, which would mean he wouldnt be on his back so much. The Health Visitor told me that when babies are born whether they be full term or prem that their skulls are soft, but in particular prem babies skulls are much more softer because of being born so early. So in fact flat heads are VERY common in prem babies.

I have my fingers crossed that we see some sort of change between now and his hospital appointment.

But how long do I have to wait until the medical professionals actually start worrying about this???

Leave a Reply

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 642 other followers

Where my readers are from

Bliss

www.bliss.org.uk

Twitter Updates

